Kells Hall of Fame

1737 –  1811
Thomas Betagh

Thomas Betagh (1737 –1811) was an Irish Jesuit priest who established the free Dr Betagh Schools in Dublin.

13 April 1971
Damien McGrane

Damien McGrane is an Irish golfer who was the winner of the Volvo China Open in 2008.

15 July 1984
Denis Hurley

Denis Hurley is a former Irish rugby union player, who represented Munster & Ireland. He played as a fullback, wing or centre.

Myles Dungan

Myles Dungan is an Irish broadcaster and author, and currently presents “The History Show” on RTÉ Radio 1.

14 May 1970
Johnny Murtagh

Johnny Murtagh is an Irish flat racing jockey and trainer has won many of the major flat races in Europe.

25 November 1981
Xabi Alonso

“Xabi” Alonso Olano is a Spanish football manager of Segunda División B club Real Sociedad B and former professional player.

30 May 1847
Alice Stopford Green

Alice Stopford Green (30 May 1847 – 28 May 1929) was an Irish historian and nationalist.

12 November 1948
Eamon Carr

Eamon was a founding member of celtic rock band, Horslips, with whom he played the drums and produced.

25 November 1981
Fred Cooke

Frederick ‘Fred’ Cooke is an Irish stand-up comedian and actor.